Information Diet

September 12, 2008 at 10:02 am Leave a comment

I have decided to go on an information diet, perhaps “cleanse” is a better word. I don’t believe in diets for weight loss, but this slightly modified definition fits in this case: “Such a selection or a limitation on the amount of information consumed for reducing distraction.”

I don’t plan to give up social networking, but I’ve been overly indulgent lately so I’m taking a weeklong break. I found myself surfing the networks as a way to distract myself both from work and my own personal Work. It was the equivalent of mindlessly watching TV, only I told myself I was still “working.” Why am I putting in face time at my computer? Old bad habits—this was exactly what I used to do in my corporate jobs when I felt stressed, overwhelmed or just bored (sorry former bosses!). If I were my boss, I would’ve called me into my office to talk about my lack of focus—oh yeah, I am and I did.

Day 1 (yesterday) went well. I was clear, focused and got a ton done. Everything from remembering to take the garbage out, to writing class outlines, prepping for a radio show this weekend (for more on that, see the end of this post), coaching clients, sending clients notes and playing a little golf in the evening.

Are you overindulging in information? Too much blackberrying, emailing, web surfing, tv-ing, newspapering, cnn-ing? If so, I invite you to join me in your own weeklong Information Diet. Comment and share your experience, I’ll keep you updated on mine.

9/18 UPDATE: My Info Diet is over, I made it a whole week without being on Twitter, Facebook, Netvibes (my blog reader) or other forums I belong to. I found myself wanting to pop over to these sites many times during the week, whenever there was a little lull in activity. I think I was marginally more productive, but what mainly happened is that I (cue the cop voice) stepped a-way from the computer when I needed a break or was done working. What fell away during the diet was the feeling that I needed to spend “face time” at my computer. I think I’ll hang onto that feeling. Oh, I also realized I didn’t miss much. 😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Speaking of the Internet, I’ll be appearing on Annette Pederson’s radio show, “Your Intentional Life,” this Saturday, September 13 at 2 Pacific. I’ll be talking all about MONEY–how to improve your relationship and attract more of it. I’d love it if you called in with your questions.
More info and tune in here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Breaking the Rules What it’s all about

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back to Momentum LifeWorks

Get Posts Emailed to You Directly

Recent Posts

Feeds


