Recommended Reading: The 4-Hour Workweek

April 23, 2008 at 1:10 pm Leave a comment

The 4-Hour Workweek

I was going to write a big, wordy review of Tim Ferriss’ book, “The 4-Hour Workweek,” but honestly, that’s not my thing. I do however want to tell you about this book because I love books that blow my mind wide open and make me think differently.

Here’s why I liked it:

  • Ferriss debunks the myth you have to be rich to live the life you want.
  • Why wait for some undefined future retirement to start enjoying life? Life is happening now and he offers specific ways to get the most out of it.
  • I won’t lie; I waste time during the day: checking email too much, surfing the web, whatever. You probably do too. This book challenges the 8-hours-plus-a-day-butt-in-the-chair rule and made me have big new thoughts about how I could really be using my time.
  • He acknowledges that you will have fears when considering your dreams and proposes a sound plan for working through them. It’s very similar to how I coach people so of course I like it.
  • The book gives detailed information on how to dream—creating “Dreamlines” which are exciting things you want to do coupled with timelines, costs and plans for doing them.
  • Ferriss offers great questions such as “What excites me?” vs. “What do I want?” Can you feel the difference when you ask yourself the former?

Even if you’re not ready to chuck it all and travel the world, this book is filled with thought-provoking and practical advice about how to take charge of your worklife in order to have a life. Four-hour workweek aside, wouldn’t be worth it if you could go from a 60-hour workweek to a 40-hour workweek? Worth checking out.

Entry filed under: Recommended Reading. Tags: , , , , .

It’s a Total Cluster! You hate your job–could the problem be YOU?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back to Momentum LifeWorks

Get Posts Emailed to You Directly

Recent Posts

Feeds


