Soundtrack of your life

February 11, 2008 at 1:52 pm 3 comments

 Soundtrack of your life

If your life had a soundtrack, what would it be? I find music to be a powerful mood-altering substance (in a good way). I like to make playlists around themes in my life. In Martha Beck’s book Finding Your Own North Star, she talks about the essential self vs. the social self. Your essential self is your core—the part of you that is pure desire, emotion and joy. Your social self is that part of you that gets things done—but it’s also the part of you that can get wrapped up in the world around you. Both aspects of yourself are good, but contrary to popular opinion, you’ll be much happier if you put your essential self in the driver’s seat. After all, your essential self knows where you really want to go.

So, what would the playlist for your essential and social selves be?

For my social self:

Here Comes the Rain Again, Eurythmics
Church of the Poison Mind, Culture Club
Because of You, Kelly Clarkson
Private Idaho, The B-52’s
I Want You to Want Me, Cheap Trick
Brand New Lover, Dead or Alive
Devil in My Car, The B-52’s
Once in a Lifetime, Talking Heads
Here it Goes Again, Ok Go
Inside Out, Eve 6
Not Ready to Make Nice, Dixie Chicks
Never There, Cake

For my essential self:

Let’s Go Crazy, Prince
Stronger, Kanye West
Philadelphia Freedom, Elton John
Personal Jesus, Depeche Mode
Suddenly I See, KT Tunstall
Superstition, Stevie Wonder
Unwritten, Natasha Bedingfield
Three Little Birds, Bob Marley
So Alive, Love & Rockets
Free Your Mind, En Vogue
September, Earth, Wind, & Fire
Here I Am, Al Green
Stand and Deliver, Adam Ant

I find when I’m a funk that turning either one of these up to 11 does the trick. Beats listening to NPR.

Comment and share the soundtrack of your life.

Entry filed under: Changing Your Mind, Levity. Tags: , , .

My mentors appearing on Oprah this Wed! Put the Hammer Down

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa  |  February 12, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Hi Bridget…YOU ROCK. I like your writing syle. I like how you are clear and clean in what you are trying to say. I enjoyed reading your above blog. It may give me the incenitve to inspire me to pick out my songs on both sides of the music sheet. I know which side I would rather spend more time on. You really have a lot of talent. Thank you Theresa.

    Reply
  • 2. Sylvia Heed  |  February 13, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Hi,
    What a great way to think. I’ve always had my favorite songs, but hadn’t really thought about which ones feel my essential vs social selves. Gonna think about that! Thanks for the eye-opener.
    Sylvia

    PS I knew I liked you from the beginning. But your choise of faves: B-52’s, Cheap Trick, Talking Heads and KT Tunstall is proof we ARE on the same wavelengths!

    Reply
  • 3. March Newsletter « Momentum LifeWorks Blog  |  March 3, 2008 at 9:23 am

    […] through a vacuum? That’s your soul being sucked away a little bit at a time. Your soul (aka your Essential Self) knows what you truly want and does not care what other people think about it. People play it small […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back to Momentum LifeWorks

Get Posts Emailed to You Directly

Recent Posts

Feeds


